So I’ve been spotting this guy around the city lately.  First I spotted him in chinatown, then in Kensington.  Today I spotted him wandering up Bloor Street.  He’s always in uniform, ready for whatever the city has to throw at him.

Image

Now I’m not sure why this guy is dressed like a war correspondent.  Maybe he was afraid of being attacked by angry vegans or trampled in a stampede of Yorkville moms at Holt Renfrew.  Maybe his flight to Syria was redirected.  Either way he’s making the most of it, capturing apartment buildings, minivans, and bankers in the gritty tactile style that you can only achieve being right in the gutter.

Image

Ok maybe I’m being unkind.  I do have admiration for the man behind the camera who cares only what ends up on his film and not what he looks like while getting it, especially if he’s traveling.  I’m pretty good at blending in when I travel but I visited Milan once and stuck out like a sore thumb, my trousers unpressed an my v-neck not designer enough.  Point is, he’s fair game.  I’m sure his photos are lovely but his war-zone getup is there for my amusement.

Image

And so his journey will continue, striking ninja poses to get the perfect shot in the war-zone that is Toronto.  If anything ever happens he’ll be there to capture it.

