Toronto is a hodgepodge of architectural styles.  Between the 19th century industrial style of the distillery district and the ultra-modern condos that go up every week here , it’s sometimes hard to see any patterns or styles that really set Toronto apart.

There is one feature of Toronto architecture that is unique and stunning and is executed in every scale imaginable: from simple home renovations to national landmarks.  The title of this post is the feature I’m talking about.  Toronto is filled with hundred-year-old buildings with beautiful modern or post-modern growths bursting out of them asymmetrically.  It seems every day I’m out I spot a new example of this style.  Because it’s my favourite, every time I spot a new structure I’ll post a picture.

For today I though I had to start with the king of this style.  In 2007, Daniel Libeskind designed and oversaw the construction of the crystal structure stuck onto the Royal Ontario Museum.  It’s the only thing you can look at as you come up Bloor from either direction.  Love it or hate it, everyone remembers it.  I think it’s incredibly cool in the way it imitates a natural chemical process and I love the oddly shaped new galleries inside and the way the light comes in through strangely placed diagonal windows.  But tell me: what do you think?

 
