“Stop talking about it!”

That’s Morgan Freeman’s reply.  It took a minute for the brilliance of that simple idea to sink in.  In a 60 Minutes interview with Mike Wallace, Freeman dropped this bombshell.  I’m not sure when it originally aired but the clip is available on youtube.  He puts it quite simply: “I’m going to stop calling you a white man and I’m going to ask you to stop calling me a black man.”

His comments made me think back to my days at Western University when I first learned that there was an Asian Students’ Association.  Being a contrarian, I of course had to ask: “What would people think if there was a White Students’ Association?” Of course that would never be allowed.  It would be written off as a racist group.  Because it’s inappropriate for a bunch of white people to get together and celebrate being white.

If you’re proud of your race, if you pat yourself on the back because of the circumstances of your birth, you’re part of the problem.  I have no right to be proud of being white and so you have no right to be proud to be any other race.  To ask for equal treatment of all ethnicities and recognition of what’s great about specific ethnicities is to have your cake and eat it to.  I believe, based on the best available evidence, that all the people of the world have the same potential to be smart, kind, influential, etc.

So how do we get rid of racism?  Stop celebrating your race.  Stop celebrating what divides us.  Be proud of what kind of person you are, how you treat the people around you, and what kind of difference you make in the world.

In other words, it’s wrong to hate someone for the way they were born because we know it says nothing about who they are.  It’s just as wrong celebrate your race.  It still means nothing.  For racism to be over, it means that all people have to stop making decisions about all other people based on their ethnic background.  Like Morgan Freeman says: “Black history is American History.”

Kudos Mr Freeman for being totally politically incorrect on national television.

If you think I’m totally wrong then please start a fight in the comments section.  I would love to hear what some people think.

 

