Most boots are either fashionable or practical.  But there is one boot that is better than the rest.  A boot that is fashionable yet rugged and practical, a boot that is simple yet unique, a boot that is iconic yet not so popular as to be embarrassing.

If you know me at all you know I’m talking about Blundstones.  For some reason my boots have been the topic of conversation lately.  I was recently informed by a friend who shall remain nameless that Blundstones are the uniform of hipsters.  I respectfully disagree.  I often spot bankers wearing black chisel toe blundstones with their black or grey suits.  But I digress.  Trying not to repeat all the reasons you should wear leather boots, here are the specific reasons that I will throw consumer caution to the wind and wholeheartedly endorse Blundstone boots:

No laces.

Ever break a lace?  Yah me too.  But not any more.  Blundstones do force you to dance while you go out the door in the morning, but most people find it charming.  A word of advice: they seem hard to put on in the shoe store, but it gets better.

No seams.

When you look them you’ll see that the only seam is an “L” shaped seam at the top.  That’s because flat leather can only be stretched so far.  The rest of the boot however is just one piece of leather stitched together at the heel.  That means no hot spots.  Well worn-in Blundstones feel like comfy slippers.

They last.

I, more than anyone I know, take care of my shoes.  I clean all my leather shoes with soap and water when they get dirty and I condition and waterproof them with dubbin about once a month.  I still tend to go through shoes very quickly.  I wear down the heels until there’s nothing left to stand on.  I’ve always been this way.  Even as a kid I would ruin shoes long before I could ever grow out of them.  I think it’s because I walk all the time.  My walk to work is 2.7km so I estimate I walk at least 10km most days, sometimes less but often more.  Blundstones are the first boot that I have owned that have lasted me two full years without repair and they barely show any wear.

Those are the things that make Blundstones stand apart from the crowd and the features that will keep me in Blunnies for the foreseeable future.

Another point I’d like to make: the going rate for Blundstones in Toronto is $179 CDN plus tax, that is to say they’re not exactly cheap.  However, they’ve lasted two years and will likely last ten more.  If you’re cheap shoes don’t last, you didn’t save any money at all.  I’m as stingy as they come but boots that cost twice as much and last 5 times as long are the cheapest boots you can buy.  It’s not the cost but the cost divided by the lifetime in years that’s important.  Keep that in mind when you scoff at the $200 you’ll drop for a pair of Blunnies.

